Energy mix web apps now include biomass

Posted on Updated on

After a quick look through my hard drive I found that I could quickly add biomass data to the web application for viewing energy mixes. The updated version is available here.

Currently I am only able to include biomass data for the US from EIA, and for EU countries from Eurostat.

US data is available from 1965 to 2014, but EU data is only available from 1990 to 2013.

A couple of notes. The measure I’m using here is primary energy consumption. However, the EU renewable energy target is based on final energy consumption. The numbers will therefore come out a bit differently to how the EU accounts for renewables. Ideally I could create an app that let’s users choose between primary and final energy consumption, but this is likely to involve a lot of very boring manual calculations that someone would need to pay me to do. So for now I will stick with primary energy consumption.