Infographics as interactive web apps

Posted on

Followers on Twitter may be interested in knowing that I am starting to convert some of the infographics I am posting into interactive web applications. These will let you easily look up data for individual countries, things like per-capita emissions, energy mixes, percentages of electricity from wind or solar, etc.

The first one that is available is of per-capita emissions, which is available here. (It’s actually a bit rough round the edges, and needs the 2 in CO2 to be lower case….)

This uses the Shiny platform created by RStudio. The apps will be available on a site that offers a free service. Being free means there is a limit to how many people can use the app, so possibly once I put a few up it won’t be particularly useful.

In the long run I am considering creating a website which will have all of these in one location. This might offer a useful service. Currently it isn’t particularly easy to find out basic facts about energy. A site like Gapminder, which makes find data easy might fill a market.

I am probably too busy to look into this until the end of the year as my experience of web development is zero and I have far too much academic work to be thinking of doing this.

Check back over the next couple of weeks and I will post apps for other energy data. It’s only about half an hour’s work to convert the R code producing the infographics I have of individual country data into apps, so I should have a couple more up by the end of next week. I might try to create one for comparing current and historical CO2 emissions from countries, but I will probably do that once I get a paper finished and submitted to a journal this month.

2 thoughts on “Infographics as interactive web apps

    michaelroberts4004 said:
    January 2, 2016 at 9:28 pm

    Reblogged this on Peddling and Scaling God and Darwin and commented:

    A very useful set of infogarphics on energy use throughout the world

    Like

    michaelroberts4004 said:
    January 2, 2016 at 9:29 pm

    This is very useful , thus I reblogged it

    Like

Comments are closed.