A brief lull in blogging

Posted on Updated on

I will be blogging very lightly in the next week or more because I’ve got some stuff that needs done. There’ll still be some product, but this will mostly be me posting R code for producing some of the plots etc. in recent posts.

I had experimented with including R code within the posts, but I’m not sure if this is successful. Most readers likely don’t use R or even write code. So, I’m probably just annoying them.

What I will do from now is post code separately. And I’ll attempt to remember to tag it “R code” so that at least I know how to find it.

I also plan to start putting up some R code for producing maps and plots of ocean temperature etc. This is day job work (I’m currently modelling the environmental impacts of fishing and I spend a lot of time mapping stuff….), but given that a significant number of readers probably fool around with temperature data and do maps, it be worth someone’s while.

It will also force me to tidy up code that I almost certainly will need in future.

I’m also considering adding snippets of R code to this website. Mostly little tricks I have for doing things. This will be an experiment, and reading figures will tell me if it is a successful one.

3 thoughts on “A brief lull in blogging

    Diego said:
    August 1, 2015 at 2:16 am

    Uploading the R code to a github repo would be fantastic. No need for blog posts about the code.

    Like

      Robert Wilson said:
      August 1, 2015 at 7:44 am

      That would involve me figuring out what github actually is.

      Like

    peter2108 said:
    August 1, 2015 at 9:05 am

    R code for maps would be very nice. Github is overkill.

    Like

Comments are closed.