How reliable are wind farms?

Posted on Updated on

One of the obvious problems with wind farms is that the wind is prone to die down. So, I thought I would look at the total wind farm output of Britain and Germany’s wind farms over the last year. The simple conclusion: total output of wind farms in both countries often goes close to zero. And we can expect with high confidence that output will go below 1% of installed capacity.

Read about it in my latest piece over at Energy Collective. The piece itself is something I wrote over a year ago. At the minute I am resurrecting half thought out pieces of analyses to tide my column over til the new year.

2 thoughts on “How reliable are wind farms?

    johnrussell40 said:
    November 17, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    Sorry to be pedantic, Robert, but I can’t let, “I have wrote”, go. ‘Have’ is redundant.

    Like

      Robert Wilson said:
      November 17, 2014 at 3:19 pm

      I don’t proof read these things.

      Like

Comments are closed.