Writing on the US-China climate change deal

Posted on

People sometimes accuse me of being a pessimist. On most things I am not. For most on the planet, i.e. those who are not rich, white heterosexual men, this is indisputably the best time to ever be a human. I just happen to write about energy and climate change, where there is little reason to be optimistic.

So, here I am writing about the latest “game changing” deal on climate change between America and China. Forgive my pessimism, but I prefer to look at what the numbers tell me. This deal does not give us a fighting chance to limit atmospheric CO2 levels to 450 ppm, it confirm that we won’t. And who would trust a deal between the Communist Party in China and a lame duck American administration anyway? Again, forgive the pessimism; I’m back to writing up my thesis.

