No column this week

Posted on

I’ve just noticed that I have gone a two month stretch with a column every week over at Energy Collective. My readers will have to be disappointed this week, because I appear incapable of thinking of what to write about this week. Or more accurately I was on a 10 hour round trip train journey through the Scottish Highlands yesterday and I was going to knock out something either on whether wind turbines are inefficient (they aren’t) or a primer on capacity factors. Fortunately I forgot to copy the files over to my laptop, so they will have to wait for another week.

And to stick with Martin Scorsese-esque approach I should have a “How many wind turbines would it take to power the planet?” piece coming shortly. This seems to pull in the punters. My “How many wind turbines would it take to power the UK?” post has been my most viewed thing every month for the last six months. A lot of people google this kind of thing, and evidently a lot of them are students trying to get around having to bloody think for themselves. An old story.

That being said if anyone has suggestions for numbers based posts throw them at me in the comments below. 

One thought on “No column this week

    roddycampbell said:
    March 17, 2014 at 9:29 am

    A strong theme in Nordhaus is the cost of mitigation. As you go up the curve it gets less ‘worthwhile’.

    I’ve not seen an intelligent stab at what say Germany or UK or Spain mitigation has cost per tonne overall. What does even just wind cost per tonne saved? And then compare this to what say Chris Hope or Nordhaus have in their (presumably) more optimal models for what this quantity of C02 mitigated ‘should’ have cost.

    I asked Tol and he was not aware either of a paper on this.

    Like

Comments are closed.